Sign in to follow this  
fatalmp

Good Idea ?

Question

Hi, I'm a video editor and I want to buy the most powerful mac pro but I don't want to pay the full price ! So an hackintosh will be perfect for me.

Here's what I wanna buy but I want to make sure that i won't waste my money :

1 x Asus Z9PE-D8 WS MB LGA2011

2 x Intel S2011 6 Core - Core i7-3930K 3.20GHz 12MB Cache

2 x Corsair Hydro H80 All Socket CPU COOLING

8 x 8GB DDR3 ECC REG MICRON MT36JSZF1G72PZ?-1G4D1DD

1 x Disk SSD Corsair Performance Pro - 128GB - 2.5" SATA 3 / SATA 6GBps,Marvell

1 x EVGA GTX680 FTW+ 4Gb 2xDVI,HDMI,DP

1 x Cooler Master Silent Pro Hybrid 1300WATT 80PLUS Gold, Full Modular

1 x Lg Blu-Ray Rewriter 10x, Sata Black

1 x Cooler Master Cooler Master Cosmos II Full Tower ATX

This Hackintosh = 4500 EUR

The official MAC PRO = 9500 EUR

Will I be able to make the hackintosh of my dream with that ?

Thanks guys for helping me!

Hackintosh rocks !

I don't know if any of the LGA 2011 boards are supported. I have a ASUS P6X58-E WS LGA 1366 MB with 12 GB of Ram. I have installed both Lion 10.7.0 and then updated it to 10.7.4 as well as Mountain Lion GM. After about an hour it crashes using both OS X. I may be having heat issues although I am using a H70 water cooler on it which is about 1 and a half old. Since there is no way for me to monitor the temps with OS X (as far as I know) I cannot see how hot its getting. I am OC'ing it from 2.8 to 3.6 though. Using Windows I use core temp to monitor the temps.

I am running 3 monitors out of it with Windows but Lion will only allow me to view 2 of them, the other one goes out/black. I can change resolution on both screens that show up but I have to have all 3 monitors are plugged in for it all to work right.