Sign in to follow this  
shockforcetx

Custom Hackintosh with Pacific Liquid Cooling. RGB MADNESS!

I finished my hackintosh a couple of days ago. I am a gamer, but I'm also a web programmer. For years i've struggled with the dilemma of running 2 different (and sometimes more) computers for work and for play. Anyone who's gone through this understands that pulling all your monitor cables, mouse, keyboard, headset and other peripherals out of one computer and into another is a gigantic pain. So my goal here was to build a bad ass gaming PC that would allow me to push the limits of my Acer 144hz gaming monitor (so 140 - 160fps @ 2560x1440 resolution), but also have FULL native compatibility with Mac osX with as little hacking as possible.

I can say after having used this for several days for web development and all of my routine mac osX tasks, it is an absolute dream mac. It's by far the fastest, most awesome mac computer I've ever used. The windows 10 gaming side is just as bad ass and I'm achieving 125 - 150fps in Battlefield one on high settings at max resolution. It's a beauty. You just restart and choose your OS and you're on your way. 

As far as the install goes, I didn't have to do anything special except use the nvidia web drivers flag when booting. The bluetooth on the ASUS rog Maximus Viii Formula works out of the box, the tp-link n900 wifi card works out of the box and all other hardware, so this was a completely painless osx install and so far I have not crashed or had a kernel panic even once.

Hardware:

Motherboard - ASUS ROG Maximus VIII Formula Motherboard

Processor - Intel i7 6700K @ 4.0Ghz

RAM - G.Skill DDR4 PC2133 64GB (4 x 16GB)

GFX - Gigabyte Aorus Nvidia GTX 1080 TI 11GB

WI-FI - PCI-E TP-Link N900 Wireless Card

Cooling - Thermaltake Pacific Liquid Cooling with Thermaltake RGB Waterblock and Dual Radiator with RGB 120 Fans

PSU - 850 Watt Thermaltake RGB Power Supply - Gold Certified

USB 3.0 - Working!

USB C - Working!